## AQUETONG WATERSHED ASSOCIATION

Our mission is to conserve, protect, and protect the natural resources of the Aquetong watershed

**Bold Items:** Voted and agreed upon / approved by the membership.

AWA President Jade Greene called the 12<sup>th</sup> Annual Membership Meeting of the Aquetong Watershed Association to order at 7:00 PM, Thursday October 10, 2019. The meeting was held at Bowman's Hill Wildflower Preserve, Solebury, PA.

<u>Attendees</u>: Jade Greene, Les Isbrandt, Brian Keyes, Graham Phillips, Dani Cole, Bill MacDowell, JJ Schwartz, Julie Ziff, Frank Nassetta, Michael Zolkewitz, and general membership.

- 1) Welcome (Jade)
- 2) Approval of 2018 Membership Meeting Minutes (Dani)
  - Membership approved the 2018 Membership Meeting minutes
- 3) Treasurer's Report (Les for Craig)
  - As of October 10, 2019, the AWA total funds in the General fund and the Malcolm P. Crooks Scholarship fund are \$19,296.
  - Membership approved the Treasurer's Report
- 4) President's Report (Jade)
  - Jade began her report by paying tribute to Malcolm P. Crooks for all that he did for the AWA and for the community. He was a founding Director of the AWA. Malcolm passed away in May 2019 at the age of 96.
  - 2019 highlights: we
    - supported and participated in Solebury Township's Aquetong Spring Park Committee,
    - monitored the Aquetong Creek for aquatic life and physical parameters since the Aquetong Lake dam was breached,
    - coordinated a spring roadside event as part of the "Keep Pennsylvania Beautiful" Great American Cleanup,
    - granted a Malcolm Phelps Crooks Honorary Scholarship to Jessica Steinberg
  - In summary, Jade said the state of the Association is active, capable, and resourceful to meet our mission and to serve the Aquetong watershed community.
- 5) Nominating Committee Report (Les)
  - 2020 officers elected by the Board at their September 2019 meeting:

- President Michael Zolkewitz
- o Vice Presidents Les Isbrandt and Julie Ziff
- o Secretary Dani Cole
- Treasurer Craig Sutton
- Membership elected Alexandra Foster director for 3-year term (expiring December 2022)
- Membership elected Dani Cole, Les Isbrandt, and JJ Schwarz to 3-year terms (expiring December 2022)
- 6) Presentations by Jade Greene, JJ Schwarz, Michael Zolkewitz, Frank Nassetta and Michael Van Clef
  - Jade and JJ spoke about the biological and physical monitoring of the Aquetong Creek, which show a thriving macroinvertebrate community and cold water.
  - Michael and Frank spoke about the status of the Aquetong Spring Park Project.
  - Dr. Michael Van Clef (of Ecological Solutions) presented ""How invasive species and deer are impacting our watershed."
- 7) Jade acknowledged and thanked the AWA Annual Membership Meeting Planning Committee, chaired by Julie Ziff, Jade also thanked Bowman's Hill Wildflower Preserve, in particular Miles Arnott, for allowing us to use their facility for our meeting.
- 8) Other business none
- 9) Next scheduled Membership Meeting: Thursday, October 15<sup>th</sup>, 2020 at 7:00PM

Motion was made and accepted by President Michael Zolkewitz to adjourn the meeting.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Les Isbrandt for Dani Cole, Secretary.